Why Can’t God just give me that?

1 10 2006

We always think we know what’s missing from our lives in order to really make us happy, don’t we?
If only I had that car, or that job, or if only I could lose those 15 lbs, then I’d be happy.

Really?

How often do we want something only to find out that it wasn’t that great after all? Sometimes we ask God for things and if he doesn’t deliver right away, we start questioning whether God really understands or even cares. Do we really trust God? Do we trust that God is good and sees a bigger picture than we ever could? It’s easy to want what’s right in front of us, but maybe God knows what’s better for us, and sometimes we just can’t see it.

We always want something, don’t we? Something that would make us happy, right?
Have you felt like you don’t get things you really want?, and because of that you tend to feel that god is denying you these things or maybe he’s not even listening to you?

Every good and perfect gift down from the father who created all the lights in the heavens. He’s always the same and never makes dark shadows by changing.

James 1:17

Why to people get mad at god for not getting something they want? I mean how is that they even think questioning GOD?
Do people even think that if you had everything you wanted, would you be happy? God doesn’t want to create this, this little bubble around us where we can be safe from everyone, where we get everything we want right when we ask for it, but then, hey, it wouldn’t be much of a life, would it. Do you think you would be happy? Now you would be probably be wondering that “How long, how long do I have to wait for this, When is god going to deliver? but fail to hear what God is saying: “How long till you see that there’s a bigger perspective here?”
I mean I don’t know about you but when ever i am unsure about any important decisions in my life, I trust god to lead me in the right direction.
Ask yourself this question: “Do you believe that God is Good? I mean, Deep in your whole body, every muscle, every bone, every tissue of your skin? What do you really believe god is like? Because Until we each deal with this question, then nothing ever is going to make any sense is it?
So when you find yourself standing at the kiosk, asking “Why can’t I have what I want?”, May you believe that God is good and that right across the street he has something better.

I leave you with this quote:

I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out-plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for. When you call on me. When you come and pray to me, I’ll listen. When you come looking for me, you’ll find me. Yes, when you get serious about finding me and want it more than anything else, I’ll make sure you are not disappointed.

Jeremiah 29:11-14

Actions

Information

12 responses

1 10 2006
bob

“why cant god just give me that?”

because god gets tired and must rest. “In six days the Lord made heaven and earth, and on the seventh day he rested, and was refreshed.”[Ex 31:17]

he must obviously be resting, because its in the bible and is the divine word of god

1 10 2006
strider1989

Dear bob,
How is he resting, when the universe is still expanding and more and more planets are beng created and destoyed and more and more galaxies are being created
He rested on the “Seventh day” doesnot mean that he is still resting. Bob go to a silent room, Remove every noise that is possible. What do you hear? You, me, and whole lot of 7 billion people on earth would hear silence. but we say and pray to him every day, he hears, 7 billion voices

1 10 2006
bob

he isnt still resting, just resting atm. just liek u rest at night, god rests (not sure when tho, maybe i shoudl ask him).

Let’s say that everything must be created, and that was done by an omnipotent god. A god which stands above time, space, moral and existence, which is self containing and in it self has it’s own cause. yet by your own reasoning, everthing (including god) must be created. who created god?

1 10 2006
Jill

i wanted to say that: the whole ‘something can’t come from nothing’ argument doesnt really make much sense, then where did God come from?

3 10 2006
bob

all these answers are mind boggling

3 10 2006
bob

i was going to post something else but ive decided only one question at a time, otherwise nothing gets answered

4 10 2006
strider1989

Sorry about the late responses, I have HSC on and trying to study hard at the moment, but still trying to keep God as first priority.
He was always there. God isn’t made out of matter or stuff. He created stuff, he created matter, The laws of physics that we obey, God doesn’t have to obey them, he created them.”God isn’t some dude who popped into existence at the same time as the universe. He created the universe, matter, time, and all laws of physics.He’s not bound by the law of conservation of energy, he made them”.
Ex nihilo nihit fit. Meaning: Out of nothing comes nothing. If there never was a pre-existent being, the universe wouldn’t be here.

4 10 2006
strider1989

Also i right to confess.
On last thursady, I graduated from high school and with all the diplomas and stuff i also got my report card. Now flashback, even though i have my HSC in 4 weeks i wasn’t studing whole heartedly before. I didn’t show my reports to my parent, to their standards and even by mine I got bad marks. On sunday I returned home from church service, and everyone was looking at me. Little did i realise, cleaning my table while i was away, my mum found the hidden report. they read and said “Why didn’t show it to us”. You can probably guess what i replied with. Anyway the point is that, If my parents didn’t find the report and my dad didn’t see the fact that I have to work a lot harder, I wouldn’t be studing like i’m now. But still when they told me that they found the reprot, I actually questioned God saying “Why, did i deserve that, I was having a good time and Why God” but I failed to see the “Bigger Picture” that across the street there IS something better, If i can get the UAI i want I would be much happier then ever.

Thanx guys for continuous reading of my BLOG
cya l8er
I’ll blog another article ASAP.

4 10 2006
strider1989

As i said before god isn’t made out of matter, It might be that he is made out matter, but it’s properties are completly different to ours

Read future “Scientific” articles to find out more information: I think the article will be called “Why god can’t be seen”
Cya guys

4 10 2006
Tom

Just as a passung comment, you say that if we have everything we want we may not be happy. See now, I think thats wrong. Because I think that everyone wants happiness. Therefore, having everything we want would give us happiness, so we would be happy. So I guess that arguement is rather flawed. That is all.

T.

4 10 2006
strider1989

LET ME JUST GO THROUGH WHAT NORMAL GUY WOULD “WANT” who is our age:
-A car
-An XBOX 360
-A Girlfriend
-hsc goes well
-Get into (*INSERTDREAMCOURSE*)
AGAIN TOM STOP PICKING ON MY WORDS, PLEASE I BEG YOU, DO YOU FAIL TO SEE THAT MY POINT HERE is that as these thing may give you short-term “HAPPINESS”(Not including Girlfriend). BUT in LONG-Term, you I know both know as we have been taught this from the start, GOD IS OUR LONG-TERM ANSWER, I’m clearly saying. Develop a list tom of things that you want, DOES IT ANYWHERE even in fine writing state “FIND HAPPINESS IN GOD”. NO.
That is who we are

Thanx tom for taking your time and reading my blog
Cya and please read the response all the other comments as this leads from the other ones
CYA MATE

5 10 2006
Tom

Now Bitu, thats a tad ignorant of you. This all comes back to thinking before you act. Why do you think people our age want these things? Because they think it will give them happiness. This really means that their core desire is happiness. Not the superficail things, but the effect of the superficial things on oneself. And the reason we chose these things is because we think that the effect of these things is happiness. Even if only temporary. So, in reality, people do want happiness.
And Bitu, we have not all been taught from an early age to find God as a long term answer. Perhaps you should look at your own culture. How many Indians as a percentile are Christian? Unless it is 100%, your arguement is flawed and false.
If I did develop a list of things that I want, it may not say “find happiness in God” but it sure as hell would say “find happiness”. So really, I am only speaking out of personal experience (as that is all I can speak out of) when I say people want happiness. But I’m sure that you following God brings you happiness, does it not? And if that is no longer one of the reason you follow God, I think it would have at least been one of the reasons you started. Happiness is something people naturally strive for. Otherwise you would never WANT to do things. Think Bitu. That is all.

T.

Leave a Reply

