Wounds Re-Open, But do we trust God that he will get us through.

1 10 2006

Havn’t Posted for ages so felt like posting Two today:

Maybe a friend turned their back on you. Maybe someone you loved betrayed you. We all have wounds and we end up carrying around these things that people have done to us for weeks, months, and sometimes even years. It isn’t always easy to forgive these people and after a while these hurts can get really heavy. So the only way to feel better seems to be somehow getting back at the people that hurt us, to get revenge. But does revenge ever truly satisfy? Maybe forgiving isn’t something you do for someone else to let them off the hook. Maybe forgiveness is about you. God didn’t create you to carry these wounds around. God created you to be free.

Everyone I know has wounds. And some are definetly too small, kind of petty. You just need to get over it. But for a lot of people they’re big and serious and deep wounds. You know, you thought you were over it but now you are more into it then ever and the wound had reopened and it hurts more than ever, and then becomes a day or a week or 20 years later and it has become a part of you.

Don’t insist on getting even; that’s not for you to do. “I’ll do the judging,” says God. “I’ll take care of it”.

Romans 12:19

Have you ever had that feeling where you can’t shake it off and you can’t leave it behind, so then what happens is revenge becomes your only hope. If we take revenge when we get hurt, do you think it’s like saying to God, “I think I can handle it better than you”?  And then you start turning your loved ones and your friends away from you and things like ” You know what, you don’t even understand. What they did to me was horrible, I will never forgive them, I can’t forgive then for what they did. But what if God said that?

Do not judge and you will not be judged. Do not condemn and you will not condemned. Forgive and you will be Forgiven

Luke 6:37

Maybe forgiveness is ultimatly about me, about you, about us. Because when I forgive somebody, I set them free, It’s like I’m really setting myself free. So may you forgive as you have been forgiven, may you give to others, what’s been given to you, may you set someone free and find out that it was you, and may you do it today, because you might not have the chance tomorrow

Actions

Information

15 responses

1 10 2006
croatiangirl19

sorry..i realized that i gave you wrong e-mail adress ..sorry..
here is the right one..
nikolinaartic@msn.com

3 10 2006
strider1989

Hey,
that’s why i was wondering y u havn’t loged me in.
No need to be sorry. I’ll log u in asap
My email is abhijeet_bhardwaj@hotmail.com

4 10 2006
Tom

Well Bitu, I hardlyy think it is your judgement that decides whether or not other peoples wounds are petty. Something that may mean nothing to you may mean the world to someone else. Who is anyone to say what is more important? The reality is that you can’t. No-one can because no-one will ever be able to see it from the other persons view. So yes, I agree that everyone has wounds, but how deep or petty they are is not up to you. I am interested to know what exactly you were referring to when you said “some are petty”. That is all.

T.

4 10 2006
Mad

God will get us through? So why take responsibility for our life and our problems at all? Yes I have wounds, but God will heal, so I don’t have to!

Dangerous.

PS

Well said Tom

4 10 2006
strider1989

P.S. NOt well said TOM
Hi tom and madison, When I say “SOME ARE PETTY” I don’t mean to say that, Oh! your aunt died, ow well you didn’t know her. NO. I dont mean that at all. I mean like getting a bad mark in a test or something. AND THEN at the end you say you WANT TO KNOW what I’M refering to, clearly sating that you either don’t understand the article or you don’t want to understand what I’m saying so you can inforce what you think about it.
WHY?
Why do people look at “PETTY” words and completly miss the point of the article. As long as I can remember you are christian (IN YOUR COMMENTS IN PREVIOUS ARTICLES). Madison and Jill are arguing the core point of the discussion. Articles clearly in NUSTSHELL says: Revenge isn’t the answer. That is all. You donot(refering to TOM)in your whole comment say anything wrong with the CORE DISCUSSION point, read you comment tom. STOP PICKING UP WORDS IN THE ARTICLE. THINK WHY HAVE I WRITTEN, WHY AND WHAT IS THE POINT BITU IS MAKING?
Cya tom, Please find the true meaning of my article and not pay attention to the little words that may you hinder you in finding it.
Thanx

4 10 2006
strider1989

Hi madison,
uhh…, AGAIN, stop picking up words, and if you are going to do it, use the whole phrase at least, not just a part of it, to enforce your view. You say:
“GOD WILL GET US THROUGH?” I’m taking that you got that out the article.
Let me rephrase the actual sentence:
DON’T INSIST ON GETTING EVEN,…………………. “I’LL TAKE CARE OF IT”
That quotes is basically stating what my article’s core discussion: REVENGE IS NOT THE ANSWER. He’s saying that he’ll judge the wrong and the right, let him, the LORD to judge who did the right thing and who did the wrong. If you understood what I was saying and Then you whouldn’t say that why “TAKE RESPONSIBILTY……” because i won’t say that because that completly contradicts what my previous article was saying.

Thanx, same goes for you, Please find the true meaning of my article and not pay attention to the little words that may you hinder you in finding it.

Cya mate

4 10 2006
strider1989

Oh! yeah tom, I’m not, (if you think I’m), tring to make you feel guilty that you are christian and you must agree with all my view, because as i say they are my views.

Thanx mate
Cya L8er

5 10 2006
Mad

Try this Bitu: say what you mean and mean what you say.

I understand the gist of the blog, revenge is bad. Good lesson. I decided that for myself, as have many others. I’m just highlighting the danger in part of what you said.

5 10 2006
Tom

Bitu, you asked for my opinion and I’m giving it to you. You said petty, so that is how I took it. If you don’t think that I’m reading the article properly, then maybe its time to re-word the article so its possible to read it in the way you want it to be read. Everyone is going to veiw your article in a different way. And when I asked what you were reffering to, you apparently did not get my meaning at all. Try reading my comments and think about them before you try to throw back a rebuttal. Because in reality your rebuttal didn’t answer my question at all. You simply said what you didn’t mean, not what you did. So I have to agree with Mad here and say say what you mean and mean what you say. Because there’s no taking it back once its up here. Once again im going to have to ask you to think before you act. This is not for me, but for you.
And when you say you didn’t mean petty about someones Aunt dying, but meant it about an exam mark, once again who are you to judge what is more important? Say, for instance, that the persons aunt died, but the person didn’t actually like their aunt. So in reality, it may be seen as a good thing. And on the other hand, if someone does not get the exam mark they wanted (or someone else wanted them to get, mind you) it could lead to a number of horrendous outcomes. Such as having parents beat you for not getting that mark, or not being able to get into university and, as a result, being kicked out of home. Do you still call that petty? What I’m saying is that it is impossible for anyone to decide what is petty and what is not. No-ones problems are better or worse than any others. So please Bitu, THINK before you act.
In relation to not wanting to understand what is in your article, if that was the case, I wouldn’t bother reading the site. So please don’t try to tell me what I am and am not doing. Particularly when it’s incorrect.
If you want my opnion on the article’s MEANING (or the article as a whole, if you will) then I will give it to you. I again agree with Madison in that the way I read into your article is that yuo are saying that no matter what we do, God will take care of us. I think that is incorrect and that we have to take responsibility for ourselves and our own actions. To totally trust ourselves into someone elses care is naive and ignorant. And this is how I have interperated your stance on this entry. The final line in the first paragraph states; “God created us to be free.” Does that mean we are free to want revenge? Free to have revenge? Because thats what freedom means to me. Because as far as I can see, you are telling everyone it is wrong to have revenge. And you are also saying that letting someone/something else control our lives (rather than ourselves) is in some way freedom. That is all.

T.

5 10 2006
Mad

I have an example to reinforce what I said earlier.

Does anyone here know how 12 step programs (eg AA) work? Well here are the 12 steps!

1.We admitted we were powerless over alcohol—that our lives had become unmanageable.

2.Came to believe that a power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity.

3.Made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to the care of God as we understood Him.

4.Made a searching and fearless moral inventory of ourselves.

5.Admitted to God, to ourselves, and to another human being the exact nature of our wrongs.

6.We’re entirely ready to have God remove all these defects of character.

7.Humbly asked Him to remove our shortcomings.

8.Made a list of all persons we had harmed, and became willing to make amends to them all.

9.Made direct amends to such people wherever possible, except when to do so would injure them or others.

10.Continued to take personal inventory and when we were wrong promptly admitted it.

11.Sought through prayer and meditation to improve our conscious contact with God, as we understood Him, praying only for knowledge of His will for us and the power to carry that out.

12.Having had a spiritual awakening as the result of these steps, we tried to carry this message to alcoholics, and to practice these principles in all our affairs.

So- you are powerless to stop you addiction, only God or a higher power can save you? C’mon, I know you know that is just stupid.

And Bitu: listen to Tom. Learn something called perspective, and apply it. NOTHING is black and white.

5 10 2006
strider1989

maybe re-wording his an answer and please stop saying my rebuttals are completely useless because if they were we weren’t still be arguing and you would “WON” the argument. So tom about what you are saying:
1. Yes maybe The word petty isn’t the right word, may be “Small” or something “One’s that don’t hurt too much”, But do you get the gist of what I’m saying there. Madison’s quote is right but when you think about I’m saying, that Revenge is bad and I’m putting it on paper. How many times have we made errors in English where we write what we want but teachers completely turn the story around because of few errors in the use of words? I don’t about you guys but ll the teacher over the years I’ve had have thought completely different storyline to what i was thinking.
2. The use of wrong wording has caused this, I’m going to fix it. Since it’s my blog I can’t ask for your descion , so “Small wounds”. OK!.
3. You ask me stop telling you to what to do, OK!, but then don’t tell that my article is incorrect because as you say different people view it differently, so therefore according to me, since this is my article, your view is yours, not meaning it’s right or wrong, but according to my view this article displays what I think. I respect your views and opinion but you can’t say my view is the wrong one unless you have evidence.
4. PLease stop telling me to think before to act. If i wasn’t thinking then i wouldn’t create articles that become core discussion of a LARGE argument.
5. Again, people read the phrase. If I said that What ever we do god will take care of us then I’ll be contradicting myself according to my previous article, wouldn’t I, in which i clearly stated that God doesn’t want to create a “Bubble of safety” around us. You ask forgiveness, and don’t think asking forgiveness from your heart is easy. Just think of all those times when we have actually been proven wrong, have we actually turned around and said SORRY?Asking forgiveness from your bottom of your heart takes a lot of guts because if you believe in god, you know he would have been watching, he’s omnipresent, he knows everything, he’s omniscient. Jesus has said to us through out the bible to “come to me when you are hurt, come to me you are in pain, even come to me when you have shamed, ask forgiveness, Let me take care of it from there(Matthew).
5. “God carried us like a father carries his son(Jeremiah), We are the son. Is it naive to think that my parents tool care of me. I was completely dependent on them and still am, they feed me, they give me shelter and clothes to wear. And If I can be dependent on someone that is not as powerful, in fact is similar in basic sense then why in the world will I not be dependent on someone that is OMNI”Everything”.
6. The next point I make, you have completely interpreted it wrong. When i say god created us to be free, I mean that he wants us to pass on the wounds we carry, the “LUGGAGE” we hold, he wants us to release it, and this can only be done by asking and giving forgiveness. Again read the words before the phrase lead to(not aiming at anyone). I said before saying that “God creates us to be free” that “God didn’t create you to carry these wounds” which emphasizes what I’m saying.
7. I don’t understand what your freedom is, but mine is GOD. God taking all my sins that I “potted” over the years, Him forgiving me for all the wrong. That is my freedom, God’s forgiveness. I say sorry many times in a day, sometimes even for something that isn’t my fault, ask Michael, but when I ask him for forgiveness, “I” feel light.
8. And tom, if he was controlling our lives in any way we wouldn’t be having these horrifying things around the Globe that we’re having now. We are walking further away from him when we should be walking towards.
9. No point arguing about this because as much as I respect your views, even if you are christian, they will be sometimes different to mine.

So cya, keep reading the blog
Also madison, what is the AA 12 step program I do not know of it
cya guys

6 10 2006
Tom

The AA 12 step preogram is for people that attend “Alchoholics Anonymous” meetings. It is a way to break the obsessive/addictive cycle and find a solutions.
In response to your numeric rebuttal;
1. Once again “small” is not your judgement. Nor is “one’s that don’t hurt much”, or anything like that. The point I made to start with was that NONE of these judgements are possible for you to make for others. Yet that is the context you placed them in. That is why I said think before you type. Because you actually have the opportunity to re-word things before it is put onto this site, to make it really say what you mean.
2. Please read number 1.
3. I have never said your article is incorrect, I have only said that I disagree and provided you with reasons as to why I disagree, and evidence to show the flaws in your arguement. This is what is called stating ones opinion. This is what you asked us to do, and now you are telling us to stop.
4. Bitu, if I thought you were thinking, I would not bother telling you to. But you see, this long arguement has been created as a result of your lack of thinking, not because of your thinking. This long argument has really started because I am trying to explain a few simple thigns to you, and you do not seem to understand. I respect your rights to say what you want and believe what you want, but you asked for my opinion and I’m trying to give it to you. You just don’t seem to be listening.
5. You basically did state that whatever we do, God will take care of us. There is the problem. You are sitting here saying that if you said that you would have contradicted yourself, so you mustn’t have said it. But in reality, you did say it, you did contradict yourself, and this is where Madison and I are coming from.
6. If you are going to say something twice as an emphasis of something, make sure it is relevant, and make sure it MEANS THE SAME THING. Saying that God didn’t create us to carry wounds is very different to saying God created us to be free. Look at your phrasing and, once again, think before you write it. I’m sorry to be so persistant, but really, that is your major flaw. You think you are full of answers, responses and rebuttals to all of everyones comments, but so far, you have proven none of us wrong. Otherwise we would start correcting ourselves and would agree with you. But we don’t. Instead, we have to continuously argue the same point until you understand.
7. If I wanted Michael’s opinion, I would ask him. Maybe you should ask him what Christianity means to him. It may be an eye opener for you. Real freedom to me is the ability to do whatever you want. That may be different to what it means to you, but to me, it sounds like you are talking about being “carefree”. This is something different entirely. Asking for forgivness is a weight off our shoulders, but is that really freedom? Does that suddenly let us do what we want? My opinion is that it doesn’t. It may make us feel more free, but this does not mean we have freedom.
8. Who is to say that if he was controlling our lives that we would not be having these things going on around us? After all, if He really is omnipotent, wouldn’t he know the future, past and present? And if He really is omnipotent, wouldn’t he have decided this future of ours? And if he has decided this future of ours, wouldn;t he actually have total control over our lives? Correct me if I’m wrong, but God apparently knows all. He creates things the way they are meant to be. This, as I’m sure you have realised, does not only mean physical objects and beings. It means events as well. He creates events the way they are meant to be. And if he knows the future, he must have already planned to create those events. And if he has already planned these events, doesn’t that mean he has decided what happens to us? And if he has decided what happens to us, doesn’t that mean that he has control over us? Because really, deciding exactly what someone will or wont do, is having control over someone.
9. Bitu, you were the one that started arguing about this. You asked for my opinion, and i gave it to you. You then tried to prove me wrong. In doing so, you created a second side of the argument that has now formed. If you were to just take my opinion on board after asking for it, this argument would not have started. So in reality, it was YOU that started the argument, because the only reason I left my opinion here was because you asked me to. That is all.

T.

7 10 2006
strider1989

No more arguments then, only opinions. The problem is here that tom I’m basing y rebuttals on something I BELIEVE. I haven’t seen him or felt how he’s like. If you find flaws in my writing then you are Interpreting it wrong because it’s my writing and sometimes only I can understand it. No point arguing because the flaw you might find, other people may actually agree with. So opinions only, arguments are being discontinued from NOW, no point in doing them. Does not mean you stop posting them. Thanks Tom for reading the articles
Cya mate

7 10 2006
Tom

You really can not tell me that I am interpreting your writing incorrectly, because it is not your say when it comes to how other people interperate your writing. And funnily enough, I believe what I am writing as well, hence it being MY OPINION. Its a little hard to develop an opinion you don’t believe. And I’m not only finding flaws in your writing, I am finding flaws in your messages. whether that is because it is written incorrectly, or because the message you are trying to get if actually flawed is a different matter. But so far every time I point something like that out you seem to say you have worded it wrongly. Then you say that you have been thinking about things before you write them. In my opinion, if you had actually been thinking, you would word things the correct way, or would have posted the arguments just how they have been posted and had people disagree with you. There is nothing wrong with people disagreeing with you. But stop trying to blame your writing. We (well, I) actually disagree with your opinions and messages. And the only thing we really have to go on is what you have written. So of course we are going to point out flaws in your writing. But if you think about what we are saying, it is the messages in the writing that we disagree with, not the writing itself.
Basically, Bitu, you cannot say that I interpret incorrectly, because there is no way to say that my interpretation is incorrect. It may not be what you intended me to take out of it, but that is never going to happen, as every person has a different reaction to the one thing. That is all.

T.

8 10 2006
strider1989

Agreed! maybe I’m blaming it on my Writing. Glad we got that over with. Lets see if I can produce an article that I can actually make you agree with me. It is my challenge from today.
Thanx tom for reading and keep reading because I think producing one more article soon.

Leave a Reply

